top of page

Courage My Love Smash Down Gender Roles, Confront Their Ghosts and Break Down Genre Barriers

The evolution of Courage My Love is fueled by frustration, pain, challenges, triumphs, boldness, confidence and passion.

Look back at their 2011 debut album and then listen to their new single Remission and you can sense the wisdom and refinement that comes with age, experience and time. What started as a pop punk band is now a gritty synth-heavy pop project. The edgy energy is still an underlying element of their music but the complexity of their musicianship continues to grow.


The metamorphosis is a result of their own personal growth that is shining through in their music, according to Courage My Love's frontwoman Mercedes Arn-Horn.


"The transition may have seemed sudden to the world, but it really set us free because NOW we feel like we can write ANYTHING and get away with it. We ripped the bandaid off with Synesthesia, and now the world is an open book in terms of creativity," said Arn-Horn.

Their lyrical approach is brutally honest and personal while maintaining the ambiguity to make it relatable for their listeners too. The deep-rooted message behind Remission is intensified by the visual accompaniment of a music video co-directed by Arn-Horn. The video follows her on a journey of embracing trauma rather than running away from it. The symbolism of a ghost in her life represents the progression of her relationship with her inner demons.


"In the video my character is afraid of the ghost, running from it, trying to exorcize it from the house, etc. That was meant to symbolize my inability to accept what had happened to me. Then when we bring in the ouija board, that is the first time I actively try to conjure the ghost and talk to it. That scene was meant to symbolize me finally coming to terms with my pain and trying to find the root of it. There’s a scene towards the end of the video where I confront the ghost and reach to pull off its veil, only to have the ghost disappear into thin air. I wanted that to embody the feeling of trying to confront my emotions, and still be left with no progress. In the end, we all have to face our demons. But instead of avoiding them or trying to banish them, I think it’s really important that we accept that they are a part of us. The pain I went through, for better or worse, made me into who I am today. I don’t live in fear of those memories today. I embrace them," said Arn-Horn.



In addition to writing about their personal struggles, the band is determined to impact the bigger picture of our society too. A few of their main focuses include increasing awareness for gender equality, mental health, and LGBTQ+ rights. Although they have experienced their fair share of discrimination (from YouTube video restrictions for LGBTQ+ content to sexism in the industry), they never stop proving that their talent cannot be discredited based on labels. They lead by example to increase compassion in the music scene and banish the stereotypes associated with females in the industry.


"If I get upset because people underestimate me as a guitar player, I prove them wrong by being the best guitar player I can be. If I get upset because someone tells me the only reason anyone would take us on tour is because they want to sleep with me, I prove them wrong by putting on the most amazing show I can every night," said Arn-Horn. "We have the opportunity to speak to many people with our music, so I think it’s our responsibility (and the responsibility of every artist) to be a role model to their fans."


They don't shy away from discussing sensitive subjects in their interviews, conversations, or music. The only way to reduce our timidness towards intimidating societal issues is to confront them head-on. They are paving the way for more females in the music industry to shine by conducting themselves with respect, not tolerating abuse or ignorance, and by treating everyone equally.


Her best advice for young women to break into the scene is to be the best at what they do and to do it with poise. "You don’t have to get close to anyone else to succeed. You don’t have to compete with anyone else to succeed. Just do your thing, and do it well and with confidence, and you will get there on your own terms," said Arn-Horn. That is exactly what Courage My Love represent with grace and dignity.

Underneath is all, the band's primary focus is to help their fans feel heard, understood, and supported. That is why they write songs about the emotional battles and experiences; they realize that their purpose is bigger than themselves. "Everyone needs to feel connection. Everyone needs to feel understood and accepted. I want our mission statement to be 'you are fine just the way you are.' We don’t hear that enough," said Arn-Horn.


Beyond the release of their latest single, they have even more big plans for 2019. They are planning more new music releases and more music videos written and directed by Arn-Horn. They will also take their dancy pop jams on the road with tours scheduled in the USA, South America, Europe and the UK.


Courage My Love is a band for anyone. Whether you are male, female, straight, gay, happy, sad, lonely, scared, hurt, confused, or anything in between...their music is meant to be a safe place for you.


Keep up with Courage My Love here:

305 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page