top of page

Album Review: Motionless In White - Disguise



Motionless In White fans go one of two ways: they embrace the band's efforts to create a more accessible sound or they cling on to their metalcore roots. If you fall into the former category, then you will be thrilled by the next step in their sonic metamorphosis: Disguise.


It is difficult to pinpoint their sound because of the vast variety of musical influences. They combine nu-metal edge, pop sensibilities, gothic imagery, early 2000's hardcore, and industrial details to create a sound that is unlike anyone else in our current scene.


Due to the slow and steady climb of their career, it is evident that they've had plenty of time to hone their sound. It has been ten years since their first release and I think they finally found their niche on Disguise.


Now confession time - I don't listen to metalcore for fun anymore. I have outgrown Motionless In White's early albums. With that being said, I am very happy to see that their sound has grown as well. Don't get me wrong, it is still a heavy album, but in a tastefully strategic way. They recruit the screams and breakdowns in alignment with the tonality of the song rather than being heavy for the sake of making noise. It enhances the angst of the lyrics instead of distracting from it.


Throughout the album I get hints of Breaking Benjamin, Korn, Linkin Park, Eighteen Visions, Slipknot, and more. Don't let that fool you though - Motionless In White is in their own lane. Their boundless creativity makes this a much-needed breath of fresh air amidst 2019's new rock releases.


Standout tracks:


</c0de> - A clever commentary on the digital age of human connection in a technological era. The song boasts underlying Linkin Park-esque synths to coincide with the heartfelt lyrical themes.


Legacy - This song is SHOCKING. I would never expect something like this from Motionless In White. It reminds me of an Imagine Dragons radio hit. It is exciting to see them experiment and push the boundaries of their genre. It is a sinematic (pun intended), introspective break from the rest of the track list.


Undead Ahead: The Tale of the Midnight Ride - This song pays tribute to their roots. It's a sequel to a song from their staple album Creatures, released in 2010. It's a throwback and a reinvention all in one. The perfect blend of spooky and heavy to make every old school MIW fan head bang.


Another Life - If you are looking for a song to tug at your heartstrings, this is the power ballad for you. It reminds me of some of my favorite Eighteen Visions breakup songs from their self titled album. The expressive vocals and catchy melodies tell the story of lost love. This track will have you screaming along with your car radio in no time.


The other thing I love about MIW is their unabashed courage to address a wide range of topics in their music. They tackle the struggles within religion, technology, inner demons, human connection, breakups, and more. Regardless of where life is taking you when you listen to this album, you will find at least one song to resonate with.


I know this is supposed to be a review and this is typically the portion where I would have something negative to say. Truth be told, I can't find anything to complain about. Their fans are going to be thrilled with this album and it is an elevated amalgamation of everything the band has released before.


Disguise is witty, fearless, intelligent, emotional, risky, and relatable all in one. Based on my inability to choose one adjective to describe this album, I think you can tell how baffled I am by the diversity they've delivered.


Their personalities are finally shining and I am thrilled to witness their evolution into the confident artists that they have become. I believe this album will take Motionless In White to new heights as they continue to dominate the rock music scene.


Check out my interview with Motionless In White on APTV. I talked to Justin and Ricky about the album prior to the release!



Subscribe to youtube.com/torikravitz for more exclusive interviews!

198 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page