top of page

My Favorite Albums of 2019 (So Far)

As we reach the half way point of 2019, this is the perfect time to reflect on the standout releases of the year thus far *cue the existential crisis because time flies too fast*...


This year has blessed us with some game changing, awe-inspiring, and completely unexpected albums. It is thrilling to witness so many artists challenging our definition of the word "genre" and bending the boundaries that divide them. I attempted to narrow down my favorites to a top 10 list and it was a struggle so please accept my top 11 list instead.


THE LIST:


1. Bring Me The Horizon - Amo

I won't bore you by rambling about how impeccable this album is. If you want to know my thoughts, you can check out my review here: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/album-review-bring-me-the-horizon-amo


2. Emarosa - Peach Club

Emarosa shocked us all when they dropped their post-hardcore past and traded it for groovy pop beats. The risk paid off with great reward and launched the band into a new realm of success. Check out my review here: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/album-review-emarosa-peach-club


3. I Prevail - Trauma

This is my number one go-to album to get me pumped up at the gym. It is heavy, catchy, and contains just the right amount of cliche inspiration to make me feel like I can do anything. I Prevail prove naysayers wrong as they continue to show us why they are one of the hottest new bands in the scene and they are here to stay. "Bow Down" is a must-have on my summer playlist.


4. Fever 333 - Strength In Numbers

It is no secret that I am a loyal supporter of everything Jason Aaron Butler does. He speaks with conviction, passion, and vision. Fever 333 reminds us that we are stronger together and there is strength in our diversity. Check out my full review of the album here: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/album-review-the-fever-333-strength-in-numb333rs


5. Nina Nesbitt - The Sun Will Come Up The Seasons Will Change

Nina Nesbitt has a special way of encapsulating the emotional roller coaster of love and life for women in their mid-20's. Her lyrics are approachable, poetic, and bone-chillingly genuine. Her stories of heartbreak, finding connections, and searching for love will make you feel those memories all over again. "Colder" was the first song I heard from this album and it was an instant favorite. And don't get me started on those catchy pop melodies...


6. Badflower - Ok, I’m Sick

From mental health to animal rights, Badflower doesn't shy away from discussing the most taboo topics with a charmingly candid and fearless tone. Check out my interview with the band to learn more about them and the album: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/badflower-challenges-mental-health-stigmas-and-society-s-standards-on-ok-i-m-sick


7. Cane Hill - Kill The Sun

Your favorite Louisiana nu-metal aficionados ditched the frills to show us their true musicianship. This stripped down EP displayed a soft, vulnerable side of the band. Check out my full review here: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/album-review-cane-hill-kill-the-sun


8. Motionless In White - Disguise

Motionless In White finally found themselves on Disguise. You can sense their excitement and unapologetic creativity in every single song. From hardcore horror rock to Imagine Dragons inspired radio hits, they have it all. Check out my full review here: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/album-review-motionless-in-white-disguise


9. Health - Vol 4: Slaves of Fear

This is one of the oddballs on my list. I discovered this band at the end of last year and I have been hooked ever since. I never considered myself to be a fan of electronic music but Health completely changed that. It's experimental, dark, and heavily rock inspired. Do yourself a favor and give it a listen. It is immaculate.


10. Marina - Love

Marina stole my heart when she released her concept album "Electra Heart" in 2012. She encompassed a fearless, confident, and powerful alter ego that women all over the world admired and related to. Now, she is stripping away the theatrics and given us a more approachable, honest version of herself. This album is introspective and reflective of ourselves and the world we live in. It's a serene and dreamy getaway from the days of the "bubblegum bitch."


11. Set It Off - Midnight

I can't help but smile every time I hear this album. Everything about "Midnight" was thoughtfully crafted to draw fans into Set It Off's world. Check out my full review here: https://www.toritalks.net/blog/album-review-set-it-off-midnight


And for all of you visual learners, I made a YouTube video to talk about my favorites too!



Comment below to share your favorite picks of 2019!

67 views0 comments

Comentarii


bottom of page