top of page

Album Review: Papa Roach - Who Do You Trust?


Here is the cool thing about Papa Roach - they are one of the few rock bands from the early 2000's that successfully modernized themselves instead of riding on the success of their hit song from fifteen years ago.


They are developing a new, young demographic after making a series of smart career moves (including their tours with current bands like Falling In Reverse and A Day To Remember) and adapting their music to coincide with the times. Crooked Teeth was the first step towards their new chapter that proved their ability to evolve. It was edgy, fresh, and bold. They set the bar high. Who Do You Trust? is going to be a true test of whether or not they can continue pushing it higher.


Renegade Music is a clear standout track; it is rebellious and aggressive. I can envision Jacoby's high-energy live performance of this song, even in the recorded version.


The title track Who Do You Trust? is another edgy, assertive highlight that will undoubtedly find its way on my workout playlist. It's a hype-up song that is reminiscent of the band's earlier releases.


My biggest critique of this album is the lack of focus. This could be a pro or con depending on the listener but I think the diversity between tracks is sporadic and confusing. The songs bounce between rock, rap, and pop without any transitions. I enjoy the rock side of the band and I wish they would hone in on one style instead of trying to do everything on one album. It isn't cohesive.


As I progressed through the track list, I started to come across the songs that let me down.


Unfortunately Elevate, Problem, and Come Around are three tracks that I will happily skip during my future listens of this album. They are poppy and very radio friendly tunes that are borderline cheesy.


If you are going into the album expecting a collection of nu-metal bangers then you will be raging with disappointment. Approach it with an open mind and throw your prior expectations of Papa Roach out the window and you might be surprised. I applaud their efforts to remain current and it looks like they are here to stay for many years to come!


62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page