top of page

10 Things No One Told Me About Life on Tour

Updated: Jan 21, 2019

I have been on five music tours within the last four years. I'd consider myself somewhere in between a rookie and a seasoned veteran. After several months of "tour life" (*cringe*) under my belt, I've gained a solid grasp on the ins and outs of touring etiquette and pro tips.

There are many things that no one told me or prepared me for. I spent months googling advice and trying to figure out what touring would be like but the only way to really know is to do it. Aside from packing list essentials and basic bus rules, most articles fail to mention the emotional and physical tolls of touring.

Below are a few things that I didn't find while doing my research. Hopefully I can help out a few new future roadies! Comment below with your questions or additional advice.



1. It can be disorienting.

In theory, the idea of waking up in a new city sounds wonderful...and it is to an extent. The detail that I didn't consider before touring is that you literally don't know where you are every time you walk out of the bus in the morning. Every venue is arranged differently. Sometimes you are parked in a random lot on the outskirts of the venue. Regardless, you have to figure out new surroundings over and over again every day.

I usually look at Google Maps before I step outside so I can see what is around me. That helps me catch my bearings so I don't wander around aimlessly just to find a normal toilet (which seamlessly leads me to my next point).



Hilarious (and staged) photo taken by @Sedition1216 on Warped Tour 2018


2. NO #2 ON THE BUS.

Most people don't know about this unless they've lived in a bus. That's right, only liquids are allowed in the bus toilet. No toilet paper and absolutely NO number two under any circumstances (unless you are cool with pissing off your driver/crew and paying a hefty fine).

Thankfully I never struggled with this rule but it can be inconvenient. If the situation becomes dire, you can ask the driver to stop or pull over. You can also attempt hot bagging (aka lining the toilet with a plastic bag and then throwing it out the window when you are done) but that is a disgusting option that should be an absolute last resort haha.


3. Small conveniences in normal life become major luxuries.

PRIVATE SHOWERS. CLEAN TOILETS. GROCERY SHOPPING. GOOD LIGHTING AND MIRRORS FOR YOUR MAKEUP. A CLOSET FULL OF CLOTHES. HOME COOKING. SLEEPING IN A BED THAT DOESN'T MOVE. DRIVING YOUR OWN CAR. CLEAN LAUNDRY. HALLELUJAH.




4. It can get lonely.

Touring is very different from a road trip with your best friends. You are living in close quarters with your coworkers and stuck with the same group of people for weeks at a time. Sometimes you build rapport with the people on your bus but sometimes they remain acquaintances and colleagues. I've experienced the latter option and ended up spending a lot of time roaming around solo. The lifestyle can feel isolating and quiet if you don't have any friends on the road with you.

Even though it helps to keep in touch with your friends at home, they probably won't fully understand what you are going through since the job is so unique. More on that later.


5. You'll probably gain weight unless you stick to a plan.

One word: catering. I was lucky to travel on tours that had amazing catering options that were readily available, which made it too easy to kill time with food. During the country tour I went on in 2018, catering was open all day and I didn't have to work until the evening. As I'm sure you can imagine, that was a recipe for disaster.

Enjoying an off day? Let the real gluttony ensue. The best thing to do during an off day is explore the city and try to local cuisine. I gained weight during my first three tours and then realized I couldn't keep enabling those habits. As time went on, I spent more hours in hotel gyms and less hours devouring local vegan fare. It's all about balance and figuring out what works for you!



We planned to protest the Westboro Baptist Church the night before our show in Bonner Springs, KS when we found out they were going to be in attendance. Last minute plans = success!

6. You'll learn how to be more spontaneous.

I am a planner. I am guilty of trying to coordinate everything in my life down to the minute. That is impossible to do when you are on tour and you have to roll with the punches.

Sometimes your crew randomly decides to hike down the Grand Canyon. Sometimes the bus breaks down and you have to hop onto another band's bus to make it to the next show. Sometimes it rains and you have to dance in it instead of running away. Shit happens and you'll have a better time on tour if you can say yes to anything.




7. Adjusting back to normal life after a tour can be isolating and depressing.

I call it "post tour depression" and it always hits me like a ton of bricks. You go from living a fast paced lifestyle to waking up in your bed with nowhere to be. From surrounded by people at all hours to being completely alone. The shift happens faster than you can snap your fingers.

When you're touring, you are so excited to be home. Then when you actually get home, you'd do anything to get back on the road. Home life can feel quiet...too quiet. The change of pace is jarring.


8. No one outside of the touring world will understand what you do.

Let's be real - traveling with a band and playing in a new city every day is like being a modern day circus performer. It's a weird lifestyle that a lot of people can't comprehend. They think it's cool but they probably don't understand the inner workings of the industry and it can be a lot of information to explain.

Common normie questions include: So you sleep in the bus? How do you shower? Do you get to hang out with the band? Have you met any celebrities? Aren't you tired? A different city...every day? Where are the groupies? *face palm*



Photo by Christian Gonzalez

9. You'll make friends that feel like family.

Being a touring professional is like being in an exclusive club and the only way to join is to walk the walk. It creates a tight-knit community because we understand the unique hardships that the job entails. Traveling in a bus together is bound to bring everyone close...physically and emotionally.



Convinced our bus driver to stop at the Grand Canyon on a day off. Finally checked that off of my bucket list!

10. It is one of the coolest ways to travel the world.

You aren't on vacation but sometimes it can feel like it. If you have a cool bus driver, you might be able to route your off days at national parks, college towns, major cities, or charming towns in the middle of nowhere. Regardless of your destinations, you'll stumble upon places that you never imagined and expected to find. As long as you have a curious mind and a good pair of walking shoes, you are bound to find adventures wherever you end up.

726 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page