top of page

5 Reasons Why Festivals Are Integral For The Live Music Experience

Have you ever stopped to consider why music festivals are such an integral part of music culture? Every year I attend Welcome To Rockville, Warped Tour, and other events with big artist bills and I never stopped to wonder why I love them so much.


Asking Alexandria at Welcome To Rockville 2018

Let's start with the obvious:

1. You can see a wide range of artists all in one place, in a small amount of time

Where else can you see all of your favorite bands play on the same stage?! When I went to my first Warped Tour in 2010, I felt like a kid in a candy store. They made it possible for me to see Bring Me The Horizon, Never Shout Never, The Cab, The Pretty Reckless, The Summer Set, and Hey Monday all in the same parking lot. I bounced from one stage to another all day and had the chance to see a wide span of bands that would never normally tour together. It's a big bang for your buck!

Here I am meeting The Summer Set, one of my favorite bands at the time, at my first Warped Tour in 2010

Welcome To Rockville is making dreams come true again with their 2019 lineup. It's bucket list material, in my opinion. Rob Zombie, Korn, Bring Me The Horizon, Papa Roach, The Struts, Chevelle, and more within a span of three days. It's like a mini rock n roll vacation in Jacksonville.

Welcome To Rockville's 2019 lineup *mind explodes*

2. Festivals feel like an escape from reality

There's a reason why festivals are becoming a staple on your social media feeds: they are a form of escapism and fantasy for a lot of people.


Big Guava Festival 2014

The only thing on your schedule is to watch bands all day, go to sleep, and then repeat. Every year when I attend Welcome To Rockville, it feels like the ultimate escape from the dullness of my everyday life. I wear fun outfits that are out of the ordinary, watch 10+ of my favorite bands back to back, enjoy amazing food from local vendors, and sip on tiki drinks the size of my head. Every moment at a festival feels Instagram worthy with photo ops galore.


Welcome To Rockville 2018

3. It's a great way to discover new artists

Sometimes you'll find a break in your schedule at a festival and it's a prime opportunity to wander amongst the maze of stages to see who's playing. You never know - you could stumble across your next favorite band. That's what happened to me when I discovered Greta Van Fleet at Welcome To Rockville in 2018. I walked by their stage, became enthralled by their stage presence, and now they're one of my new favorites.



4. It's an amazing way to meet new people with common interests

When you're standing against the barricade in the blazing sun, camaraderie becomes a necessary tool for survival. Attendees have to rely on each other to save spaces in the crowd, share water, apply sunscreen, and all of the other essential rituals of a festival goer. It's an opportunity for new friendships to blossom while you rock out in the pit together. Most of the time, the mutual respect and enthusiasm amongst festival goers makes the experience extra special. I met all of my best friends from working and attending various festivals over the last 10 years.


A few of the new friends I met on Warped Tour 2015. Photo by @entertheseventh

5. It's more than just a concert, it's an experience

Aside from the massive lineups, festivals are more grandiose than concerts because they are based around the experience. Food trucks, carnival rides, unprecedented amounts of booze, signings, sponsors providing activities like games and giveaways, and more. There is never a dull moment at a festival.


Rolling Loud Festival 2018

Comment below or tweet me with your 2019 festival plans! twitter.com/torikravitz

I will be at Welcome To Rockville, Sonic Temple, Sad Summer Fest Orlando, Disrupt Tour Tampa, and more!


Check out my video blog from Welcome To Rockville 2017 on APTV for one of my favorite festival throwbacks:



73 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page