top of page

Essential Anti-Valentine's Day Songs of 2019

I don't know about you guys but I am not very fond of Valentine's Day. Aside from being a grandiose marketing scheme to boost consumerism after the holidays, it can make a lot of single people feel really lonely too.


In an attempt to ease those frustrations, I think it is fun to make an anti-valentine's day playlist every year. It is jam packed with songs about unhealthy relationships, being single, being sad, being empowered, and enjoying the single life. Regardless of your current situation, there is probably at least one song on this list that describes you.


Chime in and send me your favorite anti-valentine's day songs on twitter: twitter.com/torikravitz and enjoy my picks for 2019!

Hell of It - Emarosa

This song embodies the unhealthy power dynamic between two people in a relationship. They are knowingly hurting each other but they continue doing it just for "the hell of it."



Hatefuck - Motionless In White

This is one of the most narcissistic, hateful, wicked, and numbing takes on hooking up that I've ever heard. It's about using someone that you don't care about (or possibly even despise) just for the physical aspect of the relationship. The lyrics are so sinister and it's fantastic.



break up with your girlfriend, i’m bored - Ariana Grande

I am not afraid to admit that I relate to this song. When I read the title for the first time I started chuckling as past memories flooded back to my mind. Sometimes you connect with someone and you really like them...then realize that they have a girlfriend so you secretly wish that they would break up. Ariana had the guts to say those thoughts out loud and I respect the hell out of her for it.



Dirt - Alice In Chains

This is one of my favorite songs from one of my favorite albums by one of my favorite bands of all time.

I think this track is really open to interpretation and it can be about anything that you are entangled with that makes you feel belittled. I have always associated it with toxic relationships that I keep coming back to because I (somehow) love when they make me feel like "dirt."



Toxic - Britney Spears

What kind of anti-valentine playlist would this be if I didn't include this song?! It is the ultimate fuckboy track and that is why we love it.



The Call - Backstreet Boys

It wasn't until a couple of months ago that I actually realized that this song was about blatantly cheating on your significant other. They were so swift about it that I had been singing along to this song for over almost 20 years and they got away with it. ...That sounds about right.



The Sweetest Memory - Eighteen Visions

This is a really sad song about mourning a breakup. It's about realizing that all of the amazing memories that you've made with someone will fade away and there won't be any more in the future. Grab your tissues and sing along.



Stonefist - Health

First of all - this band was one of my best musical discovering of 2018. If you haven't listened to Health yet, you MUST.

This song is an anti-love song about staying in a relationship when there isn't any love left. You're dealing with the baggage of what you had and realizing what you've lost.



Hostage - Billie Eilish

This is a fascinating take on a love song that isn't really about love, but possession. I have always considered how counterproductive it is to say "you're mine" because it implies ownership rather than a shared relationship. Billie Eilish took it to new heights in this song that describes selfishly loving someone so much that you want to hold them hostage.



Ouch - Bring Me The Horizon

They turned the tables on their lyrics from Follow You where Oliver said "you could drag me through hell if it meant I could hold your hand."

After cheating and a divorce, the lyrics changed to "I know I said you could drag me through hell but I hoped you wouldn't fuck the devil."

It's sassy, clever, and angsty. All of the perfect elements for the ultimate revenge song.



Kiss This - The Struts

This song is about being okay with leaving a relationship, finding your self worth again, and leaving more empowered than you started. It's high energy, upbeat, and perfect to dance along to!



Sin - Nine Inch Nails

First of all, this song is a classic. It's also an angry song describing and unhealthy power struggle between a couple. It feels desperate, hostile, sexy, and wrong all at the same time.



Liberty Walk - Miley Cyrus

This has always been one of my go-to songs for when I need an empowering confidence boost. It's about breaking free from the people who tied you down and made you feel small. It's about ripping off the chains and embracing your freedom again.

50 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page