top of page

My Top 10 Favorite Albums of The 90's

Let's face it - I'm a 90's kid. I was born in 1995 so I make the cut. Although I wasn't old enough to develop my own musical identity until the early 2000s, that doesn't discredit my admiration for the decade that brought us some of the most game-changing albums the world has ever seen.


Genres were created and boundaries were broken. The 1990's brought us new waves of grunge, punk, and boy bands galore. So here are my top 10 favorite albums from the decade.



1. Facelift - Alice In Chains (1990)


Alice In Chains is my favorite band, hands down. I made a rule that I would only include one album from each artist or else this list would include every album from their discography that came out in the 90's. Out of all of them, Facelift is my favorite. It gave us their most recognizable hit Man In The Box and perhaps my favorite song of theirs Love Hate Love. It's an iconic album and a great place to start if you want to explore their music for the first time.



2. Millenium - Backstreet Boys (1999)


This album sticks out like a sore thumb on my list but honestly...how could I NOT include it? This was the album playing in my mom's car every day when she picked me up from school. I had the album booklet on my nightstand. Larger Than Life was my anthem. Everyone knows the lyrics to I Want It That Way. Nick Carter was a dreamboat. The Backstreet Boys were one of the highlights of 90's pop culture.



3. Hellbilly Deluxe - Rob Zombie (1998)



This is the album that made me love Rob Zombie. It's a horror filled masterpiece loaded with recognizable hits from top to bottom. From Living Dead Girl to Dragula, Hellbilly Deluxe put Zombie on the map in 1998 and it is still a must-have in my music library in 2019. It's one of the few albums that I love listening to in order starting at track one all the way through to thirteen.



4. The Bends - Radiohead (1995)


I know this may be considered a hot take because OK Computer is generally the fan favorite but The Bends has always been my favorite Radiohead album. It's a dreamlike, chill inducing, emotional ride every time I listen to it. It's simply stunning.


-


5. Issues - Korn (1999)


Choosing a favorite Korn album from the 90's is like trying to pick a favorite child. However, after much debate, Issues makes the cut. Somebody Someone ends with one of the best breakdowns of all time and Hey Daddy might be my favorite Korn song. We also got one of their biggest hits, Falling Away From Me, on this album. You can't go wrong with this one.


6. Antichrist Superstar - Marilyn Manson (1996)


I remember discovering Marilyn Manson and being awe-struck by his bold words, dark theatrics, and unapologetic rage. This is probably my favorite album he ever released and possibly one of the most influential rock albums in existence. It challenged average Americans to think outside of their conservative shells and got us head banging from beginning to end. This was one of Manson's career peaks.



7. Dookie - Green Day (1994)


Billie Joe Armstrong was one of my first real celebrity crushes, which probably explains my never-ending infatuation with guy-liner. That aside, Green Day ignited my years of teen rebellion and introduced me to pop punk. Their music was angsty, fast, and unbelievable catchy. Dookie put them in the mainstream world with hits like Basket Case, She, When I Come Around, and Welcome To Paradise. From there they went on to create even more influential works of art including the politically driven rock opera American Idiot. This was the launching pad that got them there. Not to mention, this album provided me with hours of fun on Green Day Guitar Hero back in the day.



8. Around The Fur - Deftones (1997)


Around The Fur gifted us with some of their heaviest tracks and two of their biggest hits: My Own Summer (Shove It) and Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away). Listen to this album in the car on full volume and try telling me you don't feel cool as heck.



9. Cruelty & The Beast - Cradle of Filth (1998)


Although I am not a huge black metal fan or aficionado, this was my gateway album that introduced me to the genre. This theatrical gothic music library staple helped popularize the genre and put them on the map in 1998.



10. Enema Of The State - Blink 182 (1999)



In all honesty, I'm not a huge Blink-182 fan BUT I have a soft spot for this album. It's like a time machine that brings back immediate feelings of nostalgia for my adolescence. It's packed with personality, naivety and laughs that only Blink can deliver. Not to mention, they inspired generations of pop punk bands to follow in their footsteps. It's truly timeless.



Tell me what YOUR favorite albums from the 90's are! Comment below or tweet me: twitter.com/torikravitz.


(Also - it is impossible to encapsulate an entire era of music in a short article like this and I wish I could've included Nine Inch Nails, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Soundgarden, Pantera, Slipknot, Rammstein, and so many more. I didn't forget about them but I had to narrow it down so I picked the albums that personally influenced me the most!)

128 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page