top of page

Rockstar's Disrupt Festival Shakes Up The Punk Rock Scene During Our First Warped-less Summer

When the Rockstar Disrupt Festival was announced, the speculation and curiosity sparked almost immediately.


"What is this tour all about?"

"Is this the next Warped Tour?"


2019 Rockstar Disrupt Festival

Now that one of the most intriguing rock tours of the summer is officially ablaze (that's my dramatic way of saying the tour started), I am here to report on all of the action! I attended the Tampa, FL date on June 26th and I'm excited to share it with you.


As an avid Warped Tour goer since 2010, it's impossible to deny the immediate resemblance between the iconic punk rock tour and the latest newcomer. However, it was a completely different (and exponentially less stressful) experience.


The Disrupt lineup consists of 14 bands but only 10 of them played the Tampa show. This means you don't have to worry about overlapping set times or running across the venue to get to another stage because only one band plays at a time. It was great for the bands to have our undivided attention and it allowed for some breaks in my schedule throughout the day.


The next crucial detail is the fact the set times are announced in advance. This is awesome for attendees to plan out their day and to know what to expect. I am a planner so I liked knowing how my day was going to go before I even got there. The only drawback is that the audience was sparse for the first few bands and grew exponentially by the time The Used performed at night. Warped Tour's strategy of announcing the set times the day of the show guaranteed a massive turnout before doors even opened. So this is a pro and a con depending on how you look at it.


Juliet Simms

My day at Disrupt started with a bang when Juliet Simms took the stage. Her performance on an outdoor stage made the feelings of nostalgia flood back to me. I'm old school Automatic Loveletter fan and I remember watching her on a small Warped Tour stage almost 10 years ago. Her stage presence gets bolder and stronger every time I see her.


In addition to the artists performing, the festival offered artist signings, free Rockstar energy drinks, merchandise, and educational opportunities with nonprofit organizations in the. music scene.


Sleeping With Sirens signing

The day flowed smoothly from one band to the next on the outdoor stage. It was located outside of the amphitheater in a nearby field. I stuck around for Trophy Eyes, Andy Black, and Sleeping With Sirens too. After Kellin Quinn closed out the afternoon with "If I'm James Dean Then You're Audrey Hepburn," the show transitioned into the main stage in the amphitheater.


Memphis May Fire

The sun's blazing rays started to ease down when Memphis May Fire and The Story So Far took the stage. The show went on without a hitch. The Used ended the night with a brilliant production. In case their setlist of back-to-back hits wasn't enough for you, they brought out all the frills — smoke machines, blinding lights, and a special nod to their beloved album "In Love and Death." You'll know what I mean when you see it for yourself.


The Story So Far

If you are looking for an element of punk rock fun in the midst of our first Warped-less summer, Disrupt Festival will give you a fresh experience with a similar vibe. The slower pace and slightly less overwhelming lineup is perfect for all ages to enjoy. For more details, scope out www.rockstardisrupt.com.


Check out my video blog recap of the festival below!



40 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page